Message sent from:

North Molton Governors

The role of the Governing Board

North Molton Primary School’s governing body exists to provide strategic direction and an oversight of the leadership, management and operation of the school. The governors help to drive the School's vision for education and take a strategic view of its activities, bringing experience and expertise from other walks of life into the school.

All governing boards, no matter what type of schools or how many schools they govern, have three core functions:

• Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

• Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and

• Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.

Roles and Responsibilities

Our School Governing Body is made up of the following:

Parent Governors - Sarah Davies

Co-opted Governors - Andy Milne, Helen Smith, Stuart Innalls

One Staff Governor - Emily Archer

One Head Governor - Angela Fernyhough

Associate Governor - Ruth Richardson

7 Governors in total


Chair of Governors - Helen Smith

Vice Chair of Governors - Andy Milne

Clerk of Governing Body - Fiona Lowe

Safeguarding Officer- Sarah Davies

Deputy Safeguarding Officer - Vacancy

SEND Governor - Helen Smith

GDPR Governor -  Vacancy

Community Governor - Andy Milne

Health & Safety Governor - Andy Milne

Curriculum Governors - Helen Smith & Stuart Innalls

Teaching and Learning Sub Committee: Angela Fernyhough, Helen Smith, Stuart Innalls, Ruth Richardson

Resource Sub Committee: Angela Fernyhough, Helen Smith, Andy Milne, Sarah Davies, Emily Archer

Terms of Reference & Governors Documentation

Who's Who

Governing Body Contact Details

If for any reason you wish to contact our Governing body please send any correspondence to:

Clerk To Governors 

North Molton Primary School

Fore Street

North Molton


EX36 3HL

email: nmclerk@nmp.school

Hit enter to search